[dns-operations] here's a domain scam i havn't seen before

Bill Woodcock woody at pch.net
Thu Apr 8 17:14:04 UTC 2010

They've been doing that one for a year and a half or so.  I think they walked through a couple of mine early last year. 

Sent via BlackBerry by AT&T

-----Original Message-----
From: Paul Vixie <vixie at isc.org>
Date: Thu, 08 Apr 2010 16:49:21 
To: <dns-operations at mail.dns-oarc.net>
Subject: [dns-operations] here's a domain scam i havn't seen before

be warned.


> From: "David Chang"<david.chang at ds-network.org>
> To: "paul"<paul at vix.com>, "vixie"<vixie at vix.com>
> Subject: Confirmation of Internet Registration
> Date: Thu, 8 Apr 2010 15:14:34 +0800
> X-Mailer: DreamMail
> (This is very urgent, Please forward this to your CEO.)
> Dear CEO,
> We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china, have
> something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on
> April 2, 2010. one company which self-styled "Kams investment Co., Ltd"
> were applying to register"vix" as Network Brand and following domain
> names:
>  vix.com.hk
>  vix.com.tw
>  vix.org.cn
>  vix.tw
> After our initial checking, we found the brand name were similar to your
> company's, so we need to check with you whether your company has
> authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this,
> we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please
> let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue
> better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the
> registration for "Kams investment Co., Ltd".
> Best Regards,
> David Chang
> Senior Consultant
> Tel :  +86-21-69106991
> Fax : +86-21-69106670
> Postal Code: 201315
> Address: Room520, No.1775 CaoAnRoad,Jiading District,Shanghai,China
dns-operations mailing list
dns-operations at lists.dns-oarc.net

More information about the dns-operations mailing list