[dns-operations] here's a domain scam i havn't seen before

Dave Knight dave at knig.ht
Thu Apr 8 16:54:11 UTC 2010

I saw one of these just yesterday... 

> From: hunk.zhou <hunk.zhou at day1-net.com>
> Date: April 7, 2010 3:23:35 AM EDT
> Subject: URGENT - icann Domains Registration Announcement (this is very urgent)
> Reply-To: "hunk.zhou at day1-net.com" <hunk.zhou at day1-net.com>
> (If you are not in charge of this please transfer this email to appropriate dept, thanks.)
> Dear CEO,
> We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on April 7, 2010, one company which called "lin & xi investment inc" is applying to register "icann" as network brand and following Domains: 
> "icann.com.tw" 
> After our initial examination, we found that the network brand applied for registration are as same as your company's name. These days we are dealing with it, and hope to get the affirmation from your company. If your company has not authorized the aforesaid company to register these, please contact us as soon as possible. 
> In addition, we hereby confirm that our time limit is 7 workdays. If your company files no reply within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by "lin & xi investment inc". 
> Best Regards,
> Hunk Zhou (Mr.)
> Senior Consultant 
> Room101,No.10,  Lane 199,  XiangNan Road,
> Pudong New District, Shanghai,China
> Tel :  +086-21-58952199
> Fax :  +086-21-58952239
> Web:
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: ???.jpg
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 2632 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://lists.dns-oarc.net/pipermail/dns-operations/attachments/20100408/4ba09b7b/attachment.jpg>
-------------- next part --------------

On 2010-04-08, at 12:49 PM, Paul Vixie wrote:

> be warned.
> re:
>> From: "David Chang"<david.chang at ds-network.org>
>> To: "paul"<paul at vix.com>, "vixie"<vixie at vix.com>
>> Subject: Confirmation of Internet Registration
>> Date: Thu, 8 Apr 2010 15:14:34 +0800
>> X-Mailer: DreamMail
>> (This is very urgent, Please forward this to your CEO.)
>> Dear CEO,
>> We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china, have
>> something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on
>> April 2, 2010. one company which self-styled "Kams investment Co., Ltd"
>> were applying to register"vix" as Network Brand and following domain
>> names:
>> vix.com.hk     
>> vix.com.tw     
>> vix.org.cn     
>> vix.tw  
>> After our initial checking, we found the brand name were similar to your
>> company's, so we need to check with you whether your company has
>> authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this,
>> we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please
>> let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue
>> better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the
>> registration for "Kams investment Co., Ltd".
>> Best Regards,
>> David Chang  
>> Senior Consultant
>> Tel :  +86-21-69106991
>> Fax : +86-21-69106670
>> Postal Code: 201315
>> Address: Room520, No.1775 CaoAnRoad,Jiading District,Shanghai,China
> _______________________________________________
> dns-operations mailing list
> dns-operations at lists.dns-oarc.net
> https://lists.dns-oarc.net/mailman/listinfo/dns-operations

More information about the dns-operations mailing list